YARN OVER NEW YORK Wishes You A Happy Holiday

MUSHY INTRO:

All Yarn Over New York wants for Christmas is a happier, knittier, yarnier world.  I hope you are enjoying this holiday season and getting ready for your celebration of choice.  May you enjoy time with your loved ones and cherish the spirit of sharing.

I recently participated in a Pay It Forward campaign on Instagram.  Crafters posted wishes and granted wishes. Yarn and goodies crossed the planet in a lovely international swap.   I enjoyed sharing yarn from my stash and from my line with people from all over the world.  In turn, I received a project bag, stitch markers, yarn and more.  It was truly a delight to make connections with other fiber artists.

30863839293_9512595231_n

Giving is actually a healthy exercise and has profound benefits for the giver.  I encourage you to take time and give a mindful gift to someone.  It doesn’t have to be a present or cost money.  Gift a smile as you hold the door for a stranger.  Gift an extra story at bedtime to your child.  Find something to gift and cherish the warm feeling you get in return.

SOCK BLANKS:

As you probably know, I am blessed to have a new space to create.  I’ve loved using my studio and my roommate has been grateful to have his kitchen and living room back.  😉

This week, I’ve been able to paint up a bunch of sock blanks.  I’ve done many Christmas ones because they are just so much fun.

31527703482_d702c7ae2c_n

And then a handful of non-holiday ones.  Which are also totally fun.

30863676683_6791881185_n

And because, like many of you, I believe there should be at least 4 Halloweens a year, Bats!

img_8496

NEW YARN:

I’ve added a NEW base to the mix.  Brooklyn Bridge is a worsted weight superwash wool that is perfect for sweater and a multitude of accessories.  It is nice and springy and has the perfect softness.

31558004411_484911127e_n

And speckly sparkly rainbowy stuff.

31300983260_de2bb1df52_n

SALE:

I’ve got a holiday sale going on until I get on a plane.  From now until noon on Saturday, December 17.  Use the code XMAS2016 to save 15% on all yarns.  Remember to upgrade your shipping for priority delivery!  Go to my etsy store and take a look.

30863122823_1c99e0676d_n

NEW PATTERN:

The first half of my Caucus Race Socks pattern is live.  Don’t worry, it’s a whole pattern for a whole pair of socks.  It’s the Toe-Up Version of a Dual-Version Sock Pattern.  I’ll be releasing the companion Cuff-Down Version in January.  For now, you can get it for a low introductory price of $3.50.  In January, when the second half gets released, the price will bump up.  However, if you buy it now, you get the update for free.  🙂

31499174852_c496cf9bba

Caucus Race Socks on Ravelry and Craftsy.

SHAMELESS PLUG FOR CONSUMERISM:

In the spirit of giving this season, consider gifting a pattern (easy to do on ravelry) or some yarn to a fellow crafter in your life.  I know that when I knit using yarn that I have been gifted, I think of the giver fondly.  It makes any finished object even more special.

GIVEAWAY:

I am holding a giveaway!  Yay!  Will the new colorway “Bad Santa” on Flushing Meadows bulky yarn be under your tree this year?  Pop over to @yarnovernewyork on Instagram and enter to win.  This is contest closed on Friday, December 16 at midnight, so hurry to enter!

31556650241_16c4e61f37

LAST MINUTE GIFT IDEAS:

I’ve got a collection of $2 Stash-Buster patterns on Ravelry.  They are quick projects that you can make from leftover yarn as a quick gift.  Don’t forget, ALL MY $2 STASH-BUSTERS ARE BUY 2, GET 1 FREE.  Put all 3 in your cart and discount will be automatically applied.

31636034546_89c0bfd7c9_n

SAPPY ENDING:

Anyway, I think that’s all I have to say for now.  I wish you all a wonderful rest of 2016.  Find love in your surroundings and peace in your life.  And then have a great party for New Year’s!

Please leave comments below.  I’d love to hear from you.  Anyone got a fun holiday treat or tradition they’d like to share?  Speak up!  I’ll do an RNG for a free pattern code on Christmas day, how’s that?  (So please leave your rav id or IG handle in the comment so I know how to find you.)

Don’t forget to join my mailing list.

 

 

2 thoughts on “YARN OVER NEW YORK Wishes You A Happy Holiday

Leave a Reply

