NEW PATTERN: Cappadocia Cap

Do you love knitting socks?  I do. Do you have piles of leftover sock yarn?  I do.  Are you always searching for a quick pattern idea to use up your colorful yarns?  As a designer, I enjoy looking into my stash to select colors that play well with each other.

26190672380_9a9d390bff

While designing my Cappadocia Cap, I chose to use a set of 3 coordinating solids and 1 variegated yarn that would really pop out against the background.  By striping the background colors in large blocks, the multi-colored yarn takes on a new life.

26371187622_fc7e630743

The name for this slouchy hat comes from Cappadocia, the mountainous area in Turkey that is famous for its amazing rock structures and hot air balloon rides. Tourists flock there to see the gorgeous brightly colored balloons contrasting with the smooth grey of the rocky backdrop.

26397336811_f8d57ea47b

The broken seed stitch patterning of this hat, paired with the fun colors of your leftover sock yarn, pays homage to this festive occasion.  The pattern calls for about 20 grams each of 4 different yarns, but I encourage to try any combination your heart desires.

You can find this pattern on Ravelry and Craftsy.

And, as always, on Ravelry my $2 Stash-Buster patterns are Buy Two, Get One FREE.

Happy Knitting.  I can’t wait to see what color combinations you’ll use.  Please visit my Ravelry group to share pictures and receive inspiration.  Also check out my IG feed and tag your projects #yarnovernewyork

Leave a Reply

